TranslationHub 11g is only available as 32 bit – requires Forms & Reports 11g too in 32 bit for Development

I have done the whole may scripting silent installs of several developer tools. Among them was Fusion Midleware 11.1.2 Forms & Reports. I see that oracle certifies the 64bit installers on win7 64bit and so I have successfully script this after a lot of time. I want not speak about the many errors in silent installers here.

As we use TranslationHub for translating our forms, menus and reports, I tried last weeks to script this and after this to batch import all my original and translated modules as 11g versions, as this is required before roll out fusion middleware to our users.

First I have seen that TranslationHub is only available in 32bit as standalone version outside Fusion Middleware. Additional there is no silent installer available for this separate package. Asking support for 64bit version and silent install option results in two enhancement requests. Everybody who has created such an request before know, that he does not get this in some weeks, very likely he got it never. Fortunatly our scripting boys have recorded and repackaged this installer. The 32bit version installs on win7 64bit and starts.

But now begins the really horror: I could not see forms and reports in the import wizards, my batch jobs fails. The 32bit TranslationHub version seems not find the 64bit Forms version. So the work begins again – I had to script the 32bit version of Fusion Midleware 11.1.2 Forms & Reports for the developers. Fortunatly this works very similar to 64bit, and I complete this package in several ours. Now

One additional note for TranslationHub: You must ensure that the first entry in the path variable is an 32bit Oracle Client for succesfull connect to your TranslationHub repository.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Seif on April 28, 2014 - 19:06

    Hi, I have the same problem as you. Our Forms 11g is 64bit. We don’t have a pakager in our team. Could you explain me how to do it exactely or tell me, if it’s possible, where can I find more technical problems about TranslationHub 11g!

    Thanks

    • #2 by Torsten Kleiber on April 29, 2014 - 07:38

      As mentioned in my blog you have to use Forms 11g 32 bit for using TranslationHub 32 bit.
      By the way – there still exist some other problems in 64 bit, especially for reports designer and these bugs are not fixed till now.

      The installation process of translation hub is done by recording from our system department with their packaging tools.

      The installation process of fusion middleware forms and reports is an combination of

      • the silent installers of java jdk, weblogic and fusion middleware forms and reports
      • the silent configuration option of fusion middleware forms and reports (config.bat)
      • windows batch files
      • post installation config steps

      So this configuration is very depending on your os and your configuration. At the time of the blog writing I don’t find many information about this problems.

      For Completeness here the mentioned enhancement requests:

      • 14267498 NEED OTH TO SUPPORT SILENT INSTALLATIONS
      • 14155931 TRANSLATION HUB FOR WIN 64BIT
  2. #3 by Seif on April 30, 2014 - 14:42

    Hi, thx a lot for this information.

    I forgot to mention that I created a 32bit FMB file but TranslationHub 11g couldn’t import it!

    I forgot to tell you too that I have Forms 6i 32bit in the same 32bit windows machine.

    I have to remind that TranslationHub 11g could import the 6i FMB files only!

    Thank you again.

    Regards.

    • #4 by Torsten Kleiber on April 30, 2014 - 17:32

      This could be an path issue, try to modify your path, that all forms 6i 32 bit entries are before forms 11g 32 bit in the path.
      As I know TranslationHub needs the correct api and dll’s from your forms home.

      I assume, that you have selected the correct 6i option from the selection list, when you import?

      I cannot try this, as we don’t have older forms versions installed anymore and only one forms home per machine here.

      Kind regards

  3. #5 by Seif on April 30, 2014 - 19:00

    Yes I selected the correct 6i option from the selection list when I import.

    Here’s the path : c:\orant\bin;C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\client_1\BIN;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\Dell\SysMgt\oma\bin;C:\Program Files\Support Tools\;C:\Program Files\UniPrint Suite\;C:\oracle\product\fmw\Oracle_FRHome1\opmn\bin;C:\oracle\product\fmw\Oracle_FRHome1\opmn\lib;C:\oracle\product\fmw\Oracle_FRHome1\perl\bin;C:\oracle\product\fmw\Oracle_FRHome1\bin;C:\oracle\product\fmw\Oracle_FRHome1;C:\oracle\product\fmw

    the “c:\orant\bin;” is for 6i.

    It doesn’t work ;(

    Regards

  4. #6 by Seif on May 1, 2014 - 13:38

    Now I can import 32bit FMB files when I putted Forms 11g at the beginning of the path. 6i moved to the end.

    But when trying importing 64bit FMB files, it failed and asked me libraries that my form depends without giving any information about witch library exactly!

    I copied all my libraries in the same folder as my 64bit FMB file and trying importing it again but this time it showed an other error message : A file referenced by “myForm.FMB” could not be found.

    That’s my problem now.

    Regards.

    • #7 by Torsten Kleiber on May 2, 2014 - 10:05

      The message “A file referenced by “myForm.FMB” could not be found.” means, that you use a library or a template for object references in your form, which cannot be found in the forms path when opening the fmb.

  5. #8 by Seif on May 2, 2014 - 12:27

    myForm.fmb depends on an other form, olb library and pll witch I moved all of them to same directory of myForm.fmb and the same error message still displayed!

    But even I find a solution for that, the problem of importing 64bit fmb files still exist. In an other forum on LinkedIn, an expert told me to convert 64bit FMB file to FMT and then to 32bit. Doing the translation and then go backward, convert 32bit translated file to FMT and then to 64bit FMB.

    I’m gonna test this, if it works good, we gonna make this process automatic in a batch.

    So I thank you very much for your continued help and have a good day.

    Best regards.

  6. #9 by Annie Hébert on May 6, 2014 - 14:34

    I had the same problem as you for Translation Hub 11.

    Do you know the release date for Translation Hub 11 on 64 bits?

    • #10 by Torsten Kleiber on May 6, 2014 - 17:57

      As stated before there is only a enhancement request 14155931.
      Currently it’s status is “15 – Enhancement Req. Internal (Oracle) Review”.
      The chance to get this developed is higher, if more people require this version via a service request and reference this enhancement request.
      We live with the 32 bit forms & reports, because the other not fixed bugs in reports.
      And in the meantime we are on the way to ADF now.

      • #11 by Annie Hébert on May 16, 2014 - 13:21

        Thank you for your replies. I just opened a service request for this issue.

    • #12 by Seif on May 6, 2014 - 18:04

      All what I’ve found in the internet about this problem tell that no OTH version for 64bit.

      The version I use is 11.1.2.0 (Build 11.1.2.0.1). Date 2012-09-25. It was downloaded from Oracle website.

      Now, we are running it in a 32bit windows environment.

      If you read the thread from the beginning, you would find that it doesn’t work with 64bit FMB files, but now, it works good!

      I can’t understand! My colleague could import 64bit FMB into OTH 32bit without doing anything special.

      Even the problem of the path wasn’t faced again!

      Till now, he could convert a sample of 64bit FMB. We gonna try it with our real FMB files with our all libraries and I’ll confirm later if it works or not.

      Regards.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers